New Jersey Theft - Level of Offenses & Penalties
The crime of "theft" in New Jersey can be found in the New Jersey Statutes at N.J.S.A. 2C:20-3 through N.J.S.A. 2C:20-5. These statutes include theft by unlawful taking of movable and immovable property, theft by deception, and theft by extortion.
The level of theft offense is determined by the monetary value of the item(s) stolen. You should review the following:
- Up to $200: Disorderly Persons Offense
- $200 to $500: Fourth Degree Crime
- $500 to $75,000: Third Degree Crime
- Over $75,000: Second Degree Crime
If you have been accused of the crime of theft, you should consult with an experience criminal defense attorney. There are many defenses to this charge, and it is also possible to have the level o offense downgraded, if a dismissal is not possible.
The penalties associated with a theft are those penalties which are generally associated with that level of offense, including potential jail time, fines, assessments, court costs, and restitution.