• nicoleewise

New Jersey Indictable Crimes (Felony) Penalties


The penalties for indictable crimes can be severe in the State of New Jersey. Below are the standard penalties, but depending on the type of crime, these can be increased (murder, etc.).


First Degree

Prison Sentence from 10-20 years, but this can go even higher for certain crimes (for example, Murder).

Fine of up to $200,000.


Second Degree

Prison Sentence from 5-10 years.

Fine of up to $150,000.


Third Degree

Prison Sentence from 3-5 years.

Fine of up to $15,000.


Fourth Degree

Prison Sentence of up to 18 months.

Fine of up to $10,000.


In addition to these basic penalties, there are several other financial assessments which are regularly imposed. These include a Victims of Crime Compensation Office Assessment, Safe Neighborhood Services Fund Assessment, Law Enforcement Officers Training and Equipment Fund penalty, and others which apply to specific categories of crimes. You may also be ordered to pay restitution if the Court finds there was a victim in the case, and that person or entity has suffered a financial loss. These amounts are assessed in each case and can impact those who are already facing financial hardship. Before entering into any guilty plea, it is important you understand every penalty you will face, and the full amount which will be assessed, as these amounts can have a lasting impact.

0 views
609-515-6103
South Jersey Attorney with a focus on Criminal Defense & Divorce
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon