• nicoleewise

New Jersey First Offense DUI Penalties



If this is the first time you or someone else has ever been charged with Driving While Under the Influence in the State of New Jersey, you probably have many questions. First, it is important to understand the penalties you may be facing.

If your BAC is .08 or .09 (or if there is no "reading" as we say), you fall in what we call a "First Tier", and will face the following penalties:

3 month suspension of driver’s license

$639-789 fines and costs

12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Drivers' Resource Center (IDRC)

Jail up to 30 days

$1000 per year surcharge for 3 years


If your BAC = .10 or higher, this is a "Second Tier", and the penalties are as follows:

Minimum 7 month suspension of driver’s license (and up to one year)

$689-889 fines and costs

12 hours in the IDRC

Jail up to 30 days

$1000 per year surcharge for 3 years


If your BAC = .15 or higher, you face all of the above penalties PLUS an ignition interlock device for 6 months – 1 year is required to be imposed by the Court.


Obviously, the penalties for a DUI/DWI are significant, even for a first offense. Look for other posts which outline the penalties associated with other offenses, and for greater details associated with each of these penalties.

609-515-6103
South Jersey Attorney with a focus on Criminal Defense & Divorce
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon