• nicoleewise

New Jersey Driving While Suspended Penalties

If you have been convicted of Driving While Suspended (or Revoked) in New Jersey, you will face the following penalties, in addition to any Motor Vehicle Commission surcharges:


First Offense

$500 fine

Additional Suspension up to 6 months


Second Offense

$750 fine

Additional Suspension up to 6 months

Mandatory Jail of 1-5 days


Third (or Greater) Offense

$1000 fine

Additional Suspension up to 6 months

Mandatory Jail of 10 days


Obviously, the penalties for driving while suspended are severe. These also increase substantially if you are involved in an accident and someone is injured, if your license was suspended for lack of insurance, and/or if you are driving while suspended as a result of a DUI. It is important that you consult with an experienced attorney who can evaluate you current driving abstract and help you understand what steps need to be taken to get your license in good standing. Continuing to drive will suspended will only make the situation substantially worse and the penalties increase and your license will be suspended for even longer.

609-515-6103
South Jersey Attorney with a focus on Criminal Defense & Divorce
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon