New Jersey Disorderly Persons Offense(Misdemeanor) Penalties
The penalties for disorderly persons offenses in the State of New Jersey are severe. These are the basic penalties, but for certain offenses, there may be mandatory jail time (for example, a third shoplifting offense).
Disorderly Persons Offense
County Jail Sentence of up to 180 days.
Fine of up to $1,000.
Petty Disorderly Persons Offense
County Jail Sentence of up to 30 days.
Fine of up to $500.
In addition to these basic penalties, there are several other financial assessments which are regularly imposed. These include a Victims of Crime Compensation Office Assessment, Safe Neighborhood Services Fund Assessment, Law Enforcement Officers Training and Equipment Fund penalty, court costs, and others which apply to specific categories of crimes. You may also be ordered to pay restitution if the Court finds there was a victim in the case, and that person or entity has suffered a financial loss. These amounts are assessed in each case and can impact those who are already facing financial hardship. Before entering into any guilty plea, it is important you understand every penalty you will face, and the full amount which will be assessed, as these amounts can have a lasting impact.